The Annual Book Report, 2009 (Part I)

At the very beginning of the year just ended, I promptly endeavored to give you, my gentle snowflakes, an orderly account of my book acquisitions for 2008. Since I found this listing personally useful for a number of reasons, I started to work on a new book report as 2009 drew to a close, the first part of which appears below. There is much to report indeed, but in this first installment I have chosen to highlight, as a token of my sincere gratitude, those books I received through the kindness of others. The next installment(s) will then list book purchases for the year.

I. Won

As you might remember, last year I won 3 books during Shaun Tabatt’s first annual 12 Days before Christmas Giveaway. Well, I am pleased to report that, thanks to the good offices of random.com, I won some books in Mr Tabatt’s giveaway this year as well! Here are their titles:

Goldingay, John. Old Testament Theology, volume 3: Israel’s Life. Carol Stream: IVP Academic, 2009.

Meyer, Jason C. The End of the Law: Mosaic Covenant in Pauline Theology. NAC Studies in Bible & Theology. Nashville: B&H Academic, 2009.

Mounce, William D. Basics of Biblical Greek: Grammar, 3rd ed. Grand Rapids: Z0ndervan, 2009.

Sailhamer, John. The Meaning of the Pentateuch. Carol Stream: IVP Academic, 2009.

Sproul, R. C., gen. ed. The ESV Reformation Study Bible, 2nd ed. Orlando: Ligonier, 2005.

My thanks to Shaun and the respective publishers for making these available!

II. Gifts

Some of these I purchased with gift cards given to me on various occasions, others were brought to me from overseas at my request, and yet others were thoughtfully chosen as gifts; all came from beloved family and dear friends. To all of them, my heartfelt thanks for your kindness!

Beale, G. K., ed. The Right Doctrine from the Wrong Texts? Essays on the Use of the Old Testament in the New. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 1994.

Bouteneff, Peter C. Beginnings: Ancient Christian Readings of the Biblical Creation Narratives. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2008.

Comfort, Philip W. New Testament Text and Translation Commentary. Carol Stream: Tyndale, 2008.

Drobner, Hubertus R. The Fathers of the Church: A Comprehensive Introduction. Peabody: Hendrickson, 2007.

Εκλογάδιον: Αποστολικά και Ευαγγελικά αναγνώσματα των Κυριακών και Εορτών. Athens: Apostoliki Diakonia and Greek Bible Society, 2003.

Goppelt, Leonhard. Typos: The Typological Interpretation of the Old Testament in the New. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1982.

Golitzin, Hieromonk Alexander, trans. and ed. The Living Witness of the Holy Mountain: Contemporary Voices from Mount Athos. South Canaan: St Tikhon’s Seminary Press, 1999.

Hart, David Bentley. Atheist Delusions: The Christian Revolution and Its Fashionable Enemies. New Haven and London: Yale University Press, 2009.

Longman III, Tremper and Raymond B. Dillard. An Introduction to the Old Testament, 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2006.

Manley, Johanna, ed. Grace for Grace: The Psalter and the Holy Fathers. Menlo Park: Monastery Books, 1992.

Manley, Johanna, ed. The Bible and the Holy Fathers: For Orthodox. Menlo Park: Monastery Books, 1990.

Markschies, Christoph. Estructuras del cristianismo antiguo: Un viaje entre dos mundos. Madrid: Siglo XXI, 2001.

Marshall, I. Howard.  Biblical Inspiration. Vancouver: Regent College Publishing, 1982.

McCartney, Dan and Charles Clayton. Let the Reader Understand: A Guide to Interpreting and Applying the Bible, 2nd ed. Phillipsburg: P & R, 2002.

Moreschini, Claudio, and Enrico Norelli. Early Christian Greek and Latin Literature: A Literary History, 2 vols. Peabody: Hendrickson, 2005.

Ωρολόγιον το Μέγα, 17th ed. Athens: Apostoliki Diakonia, 2007.

Osborne, Grant. The Hermeneutical Spiral: A Comprehensive Introduction to Biblical Interpretation, 2nd ed. Downers Grove: IVP Academic, 2006.

Veniamin, Christopher, trans. and ed. Saint Gregory Palamas: The Homilies. Waymart: Mount Thabor, 2009.

Wilken, Robert Louis, trans. and ed. Isaiah: Interpreted by Early Christian and Medieval Commentators. The Church’s Bible. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008.

Young, Frances, Lewis Ayres, and Andrew Louth, eds. The Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.

10 responses to “The Annual Book Report, 2009 (Part I)

  1. Nice! I’m especially jealous of Early Christian Greek and Latin Literature: A Literary History, 2 vols. and The Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature. I had the opportunity to get the set edited by Norelli and Moreschini for a measly $15 from a CDB midweek markdown sale but I passed it up because on that very same day I had requested a review copy from Hendrickson. Naturally I assumed that the volumes would arrive without issue so I passed on the deal and when I realized that my confidence was misplaced I’ve proceeded to kick myself everyday since. But congratulations to you on getting them!

  2. Oh! I just realized that a box I have in my room was intended to add to this list! For shame!

    Those will just have to show up on your 2010 list.

    I also recently got a copy of the Ωρολογιον το μεγα! Isn’t it pretty?! I also got the Συστημα Τυπικου (for future study purposes), and a great little Συνεκδημος.

    Comparing the Ωρολογιον το μεγα and the MTM Great Horologion is educational/interesting. Their choices in rearrangement seem guided by chicken bones cast in the parking lot or something, as my questions have been typically (if not typikonically!) answered with “this is the older way”. Whatev. Still, a beautifully published book, even if some of the lustre is now worn off.

  3. Nick> Well, I’m especially jealous of the Handbook of Patristic Exegesis, so we’re even! Actually, no we’re not, since you can buy brand-new copies of both of mine for a third of the price of the Brill book, which means I will likely never get to purchase it — so there. ;-)

    Yes, I remember the heart-wrenching tale of your passing up the CBD deal on Moreschini and Norelli. But don’t lose heart: what was once featured on CBD’s midweek markdown will be featured again at some point!

    Kevin> Ah, my friend! I greatly appreciate your kindness in offering me those books, and thank you for your willingness to send them. I’ll have to provide you with my new mailing address, though, which I don’t believe you have.

    The Ωρολόγιον το Μέγα is indeed pretty, but I regret to inform you that the quality of the book seems to worsen with each successive edition. The copy that I had on near-permanent loan while I lived in Puerto Rico, for one, had much nicer paper and binding — and it lay flat when open! Also, it included in the back the festal tables according to the Old Calendar, which seem to have become blank pages in this edition. It’s a bit of a shame, but it is still a pretty book.

    The Σύστημα τυπικού is an excellent buy, and I might send for one next time I hear of someone going to Greece. You should also find a copy of of Rigas’ Typikon, which is a remarkably full parish Typikon that takes full account of the older Sabbaitic Typikon over against the Violakis Typikon. It has been recommended to me by a number of well-informed friends, and the bits and pieces I have seen have always been admirable.

    I think the HTM Great Horologion should be treated not as a translation of the Ωρολόγιον το Μέγα, but as an entirely different work, since it is significantly augmented (not to mention graced by a number of liturgical eccentricities). It is is still a useful book, of course, but it should be used with a good dose of rubrical discernment.

  4. Kevin> Yes, sir, you do! I mean, I even left you a message, and you know how I hate talking to machines. ;-)

    TC> Um, thanks for the offer, but no thanks! I’m blessed to be surrounded and loved by people who understand my book habit. ;-)

    John> You know, I’ve been after Typos for a long time, and it was a gift card at the Christmas gift exchange at work finally that made it happen. I also got a second-hand copy of his Apostolic and Post-Apostolic Times for a couple of bucks, which was great. Sadly, however, I also had a chance to get his 2-vol. Theology of the New Testament for a miscellany, but I didn’t act fast enough and lost it. Well, sometimes you win, and sometimes you lose, I guess!

    Also, I’m glad you saw this post, since your own contribution to the list was not inconsiderable. Once again, thank you!

  5. Pingback: The Annual Book Report, 2009 (Part II) « The Voice of Stefan

  6. Pingback: The Annual Book Report, 2009 (Part III) « The Voice of Stefan

Leave a Reply

