Two Recent Posts Right Worthy of Note

I. John Hobbins, at the insistence of Doug Chaplin, has posted what he considers to be the 10 paradigmatic questions of the Bible in order to answer a question he himself raised elsewhere, and which he restates thus: “What ten verses of the Bible sum up that book’s message more than the others?” His answer is extraordinary, and the homiletical and catechetical possibilities opened by his choice selections are simply staggering:

(1) “Where are you?” (Genesis 3:9) [God to Adam and Eve]

(2) “Where is your brother?” (Genesis 4:9) [God to Cain]

(3) “Where is the sheep for the burnt offering?” (Genesis 22:7) [Isaac to his father]

(4) “How long, O Lord, will you forever ignore me?” (Psalm 13:2)

(5) “Who may dwell, O Lord, on your holy mountain?” (Psalm 15:1)

(6) “My God, My God, why have you abandoned me?” (Psalm 22:2)

(7) “Would you impugn my justice? / Do you condemn me that you may be in the right?” (Job 40:8) [God to Job]

(8) “Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I say?” (Luke 6:46) [Jesus to his disciples and the large crowd who accompanied him]

(9) “Who do you say that I am?” (Mark 8:29) [Jesus to his disciples]

(10) “Sovereign Lord, holy and true, / how long will it be before you pass sentence / and avenge our blood on the inhabitants of the earth?” (Revelation 6:10) [the martyrs to God]

As John so poignantly, and rightly, states: “The meaning of life consists in responding, asking, and bearing witness to these questions.” Please read his full post; you’ll be glad you did.

II. Isaac Crabtree, an Orthodox layman and my good friend, interacts briefly but rather thoughtfully with Father John Behr’s book The Formation of Christian Doctrine, Volume 1: The Way to Nicea. This is his first review postthe first, I hope, of many, because this kind of interaction with “critical” literature is evidently very good for him. Would that all of us read as seriously as he, and were so open to being challenged, and perhaps even persuaded, by our reading!

3 responses to “Two Recent Posts Right Worthy of Note

  1. You’re not kidding! The preacher in me has been all riled up since reading John’s post, bitterly lamenting that he no longer has a pulpit to deliver these sermons.

    Also, the more I think about these questions, the more I doubt I could keep such a series to ten weeks. I think that for the first time I’ve gained a glimpse into the type of planning that must have gone into those admirable expository sermons by Spurgeon and Lloyd-Jones, with a single line from Scripture as an epigraph, and nary a departure from it through endless pages of text. I can easily see a series on these 10 questions becoming the stuff of bulky volumes!

    Like

  2. Stefan,

    As you promised you have charitably linked to my silly review– thank you! This John fellow apparently has his finger upon the very pulse of the Scriptures by bringing to the forefront the astounding profundity of these questions. I think it’s awesome that it’s not simply answering them, but also asking them, that is presented as the meaning of our lives. That’s some deep stuff that I’m going to have to think about some more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

