Book Notice

I was very pleased to learn that my former teacher Dick Thompson has rather recently published a book entitled Keeping the Church in Its Place: The Church as Narrative Character in Acts (New York: T&T Clark, 2006). Steve Walton of the London School of Theology has written a terrific review of the book, which I hope will encourage all parties seriously interested in Luke-Acts scholarship and narrative criticism to obtain their own copy.

Thompson had previously edited, with Tom Phillips, a Festschrift for their Doktorvater Joe Tyson on the occasion of his retirement from Southern Methodist University after four decades of teaching; this was entitled Literary Studies in Luke-Acts (Macon: Mercer University Press, 1998).

[H/T: Michael Pahl]

2 responses to “Book Notice

  1. Well, you’ve just ruined for everybody else, Juhem! They were all so relieved that I had laid off the Machen. ;-)

    I discontinued it temporarily given my infrequent posting over the past several weeks–I took a look at my blog a little time back, and there were like 5 “Saturdays a’Machen” on the front page alone, with few posts in between. But I think I might start it up again soon; I do enjoy digging his writings for quotes to post here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

