On Why Godchildren Are Good for the Soul

Two years and a month ago, I returned to Puerto Rico from a lovely three-month stay in Grand Rapids, MI, to find that a number of my books had horribly fallen victim to water damage and were being consumed by mold. I was sorrowfully forced to throw them out, even though the victims included Schaff’s 3-volume Creeds of Christendom set, and even some volumes of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers and of Barth’s Church Dogmatics. My Godson, who helped me moved rather shortly thereafter, was an eyewitness to some of the tragic aftermath: he beheld the end result of horrors that no book should ever suffer. Moved to compassion on account of the sorrow endured by his dear old Godfather (who will reach the exceeding great age of 30 years in 2008), he decided to replace my Creeds of Christendom set, and tells me that the books are on their way. I wish, then, to publicly thank my Godson David for his kindness! As a truly grateful Vito Corleone said to the elder Abbandando (when the latter was forced by Don Fanucci to give Vito’s job to his nephew): “I thank you. And I won’t forget it.”

Note.- In case you, O reader, are curious about which other books were lost, or else if you feel moved to further soothe the sorrow of my loss, here is the list of casualties:

  • Barth’s Church Dogmatics I.1 and II.2 (I managed to salvage III.2, but it is quite moldy and will have to be replaced eventually).
  • Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers (Green Series), Vol. 4: St. Augustine, Anti-Manichæan and Anti-Donatist Writings.
  • Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers (Blue Series), Vol. 3: Theodoret, Jerome, Gennadius, and Rufinus: Historical Writings.
  • Tyson, John R. Charles Wesley on Sanctification: A Biographical and Theological Study (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1986).

5 responses to “On Why Godchildren Are Good for the Soul

  1. Fell ya, I just realized that my copy of Cox and McCubbins’s Legislative Leviathan: Party Government in the House is missing. Sure you don’t care about real (i.e. quantitative) political science, but still hurts.

    Like

  2. Juhem> While you’re right in noting that I don’t much care for math, particularly as used by those who think that the social sciences are “pure” sciences (ha!), I do feel your pain in the loss of an important book. In an hour of tragedy such as this, everything else fades into the background. ;-)

    Lou> Why, thanks for your sympathy! ;-)

    Like

  3. While it will not change the nature of your loss, it may help you to appreciate what you do have: Some very dear friends of mine lost scores of books to the Oregon floods back during the Nativity fast. They lost all their literature, “philosophers P through X,” and a vast personal correspondence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

