A Few Random Comments on a Tuesday Morning

  • Nick Norelli has sent me the Hebrew-English New Covenant: Prophecy Edition which he recently offered as a prize for his caption contest. This handsomely bound volume features the King James Version and the Trinitarian Bible Society’s Hebrew New Testament, also based on the Textus Receptus. I should like to thank Doug Chaplin for forfeiting his rightfully earned prize, and Nick Norelli for choosing me quite arbitrarily to receive it in Doug’s stead!
  • Spanish-speaking readers might be interested to know that there exists a Spanish translation of the Septuagint, that by Guillermo Jünemann-Beckschaefer, a Chilean Roman Catholic priest and scholar of German ancestry. This is an extremely literal translation and in many ways, I have found, it paints a picture of the “translation Greek” quality of the original, much like the NETS does for English-speaking readers. Although completed in 1928, Jünemann’s translation of the Greek Bible was not printed in full until 1992, and is sadly now out print. Despair not, however: the full text (including his translation of the New Testament, which as far as I can tell is based on the Byzantine text) is available in an electronic edition which may be downloaded for free here!
  • According to Sitemeter, someone from Calvin College in my old stomping grounds of Grand Rapids, Michigan, found my blog via Lingamish! That is very exciting to me, for as is well known by all, Grand Rapids is the Holy City of God (i.e., the New GRusalem). Visitors from Calvin, in particular, must know that I am able to pass this test with flying colors and quite effortlessly, and that at least one unsuspecting Oma has declared in the past that I’m “a very nice Dutch boy.” Ere zij God, ere zij God
  • Sitemeter also notes that someone in Austria found my blog by searching for me by name. Clearly it is time for me to go underground.
  • I think the author of the best “Orthodox” blog in existence, Ora et Labora, is trying to tell me something.
  • The watchful Trevor informs us that a spokesman of the Patriarchate of Moscow has recently named The Simpsons as an example of a cartoon that “can be even called Christian and promote[s] family values.” Outstanding! Surely this means that, as I have long suspected, The Simpsons make for appropriate Lenten viewing.
7 responses to “A Few Random Comments on a Tuesday Morning

  1. I like Felix Culpa’s advice! I would broaden it:

    “[Fill in the blank], and then repent!” Anything can fit in the first part, “and then repent!” following.

    So, “Wake up in the morning, and then repent!” “Brush your teeth, and then repent!” “Make some toast, and then repent!” All the way throughout your day! …and then repent!

    Like

  2. Grand Rapids is the Holy City of God (i.e., the New GRusalem)

    GRoan.

    And, my kids watch the Simpsons, I should take it up as Lenten watching myself.

    Like

  3. Nick> It did indeed! I could not believe it was even shrinkwrapped. Many thanks, once again!

    Kevin> I have found, as you already know, that I like nearly everything Father Anonymous says. ;-)

    Mimi> I take your heartfelt groan as a high compliment indeed! And you could indeed take up The Simpsons as Lenten watching, and use this as Lenten reading. ;-)

    Like

  4. Hey, I used to work with you at that place in the Holy City called Baker Book House. It is I, Charles. I am no longer Reformed but Lutheran and unfortunately on my journey to Lutheranism I led another one of my friends from the HNRC to the ROC. I hope all is well with you.

    Like

  5. Oh, my goodness, Charles! It’s so good to hear from you! Hard to believe that it’s been well over two years since my last stint at Baker (van der) Boek Huis…

    I am positively delighted to hear of your conversion to True Chalcedonian Christology, and of your having joined the True Western Church. ;-) (Really, I don’t say that in jest: with the late great Arthur Carl Piepkorn, I believe that the Church of Augsburg Confession is the true and full continuation of the Western church. In fact, I myself nearly set out on the road to Augsburg, but in the end I came to a different conclusion than the Pieps, and the Lutheran confessional tradition with him, as to what One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic means, and so I could not do otherwise than to become Orthodox. However, I gratefully acknowledge my debt to Pieper, Piepkorn, Scaer, and the Lutheran confessions themselves, all of whom introduced me to Chalcedonian Christology in its undiluted and glorious fullness. But I digress!) Anyway, where are you going to church now, and which Russian Orthodox parish did your friend end up in?

    I hope all is well with you too. Please let me know your e-mail address, and let’s get in touch! I’ll give you my phone number and then we can chat, and catch up. :-) Blessings, my friend!

    Like

  6. I was going to Our Savior Lutheran Church in Grand Rapids for awhile. But we bought a house in Middleville so now I’m going to Good Shepherd.

    I had planned to visit St. Herman’s for quite some time. By the time. I finally planned on doing it for a Saturday vespers service, I called to confirm the time and after I hung up the phone they called back a few minutes later and told me they had moved to Lake Odessa. So me and my friend ended up visiting St. Chrysostom–the one with the Aussie priest that wears a Roman collar and absolutely no facial hair (my personal plan is to try to get someone with facial hair elected president). My friend had been to a couple OCA churches in the area but fell in love with St. Chrysostom’s. He’s planning on being chrismated in April I believe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

