More Tuesday Morning Musings

My superfriend Juhem has apparently decided to move from retelling stories from our high school days on to poking fun at me on the basis of news items. Of course, I’m only complaining because I had seen the very same news item a while back and had thought to do the same thing with Jim West, but I forgot! Meanwhile, Juhem forgot to link to the relevant xkcd comic on the subject of death by blogging.

Speaking of blogging and the dangers thereof, Jim West has posted a (typically) provocative response to Chris Brady’s thoughtful reflections on how bloggers write. Be sure to give both posts a read! [UPDATE: Chris writes a second post on the subject here.]

I wish to take this chance to state that I love the OSB. I can hardly think of a better study edition of any Bible, and I find the translation delightful in every respect. Therefore, I’m glad to heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a study edition of the Scriptures. Oh, waitmaybe I should clarify that by “OSB” I mean the Oxford Study Bible in the Revised English Bible, which our good friend ElShaddai Edwards has recently been able to find in a fine genuine leather edition. (He posts pictures!) I too own a leatherbound copy of this Bible (mine is burgundy), and it is one of my top two favorite academic editions. Are you interested in buying one of these beautiful Bibles for yourself, perhaps? Well, no problem! Iyov notes that you can score one for a mere $74o plus shipping. He also discusses Oxford’s crazy Bible publishing strategies, so head on over to read his post and let us be enraged together.

Jim West has recently posted, as “a cautionary note to the young,” some helpful comments on the matter of acquiring books; Nick Norelli, a notorious book junkie (and yes, I do have the moral authority to say that!), inquires as a result which books from Jim’s categories are missing from his library. He wonders, in particular, about Old and New Testament theologies. Since I like to watch out for other people’s wallets every bit as much as for my own, I thought I would let Nick (and any other interested parties) know that Christian Book Distributors has the Prince Press (i.e., single-volume) edition of Gerhard von Rad’s epoch-making Old Testament Theology available for a mere $9.99 plus shipping. Yes, you’re welcome. As for New Testament theologies, other than Ladd, I would highly recommend G. B. Caird’s New Testament Theology (completed posthumously by his student E. D. Hurst), but unfortunately that will set you back a few bucks.

Felix Culpa over at Ora et Labora has posted a marvelous series entitled The Areopagite in 20th Century Orthodoxy, offering a masterful assessment of the anti-Dionysian Orthodox scholarship of the middle of the last century and its reversal. Read it all: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, and Part 5.

And to close, I offer the following two quotes for your edification:

Nick Norelli: “Scripture does not interpret Scripture, people interpret Scripture.” (Now, chew on that for a while!)

Iyov: “Now this midrash — like all aggada — is not obligatory to believe. However, it puts the story in a new light — making our Biblical dialogue richer. [….] Midrash is the result of careful and pious reading of Scripture.” (Do read the whole thing! A brilliant post, indeed.)

6 responses to “More Tuesday Morning Musings

  1. I’ve had Von Rad’s OT Theology on my CBD wish list for nearly two years. For some reason, I’ve never been able to bring myself to buy it. Any thoughts on I.H. Marshall’s NT Theology?

    Like

  2. Does anyone have a comparison of Von Rad’s to:

    An Old Testament Theology: by Bruce K. Waltke, Charles Yu

    ?

    Thanks.
    Jeff

    Like

  3. Nick just get von Rad. He’s indispensable. I realize there are newer, but there aren’t better.

    And no one compares to him zealot.

    And Est. is quite right about the brilliant volume by Caird.

    Like

  4. Nick> Well, I’m shocked that you haven’t bought the book yet! I agree with Jim; von Rad is in indispensable. This is not because his system is perfect, or because the contents are indisputable, but because it is the method of OT method at its finest (as opposed to the not so fine method of his predecessor Eichrodt). And for what it’s worth, even its contents do stand up quite well to scrutiny after so many years, and after so many other proposals.

    Jeff> I am not aware of any such comparisons. I do think that comparing von Rad and Waltke would be a bit like comparing apples and oranges! :-) Not because one is good and the other bad, but rather because they’re different books. I would expect that Waltke would be more accessible to the person in the pew, and I certainly would trust him as a reliable Christian guide to and interpreter of the Old Testament’s faith both for myself and for others. But von Rad’s volumes are pivotal (and, to my mind, as yet unsurpassed) in the history of the academic study of Old Testament theology, and those with a scholarly interest in that subject cannot afford to neglect him.

    Jim> I’m glad (but not surprised!) to learn of your appreciation for Caird’s (and Hurst’s) outstanding book. Like many others, I was (very thoroughly) introduced to NT Theology by Ladd; but it was Caird who, with his “apostolic conference” model, pushed me beyond the tight confines of NT Theology as a Pauline monologue (which Ladd reinforced) and into a way of thinking about NT Theology that takes into account the glorious diversity of the NT voices. (And I do believe that these many voices sing in harmony, but they’re different voices all the same, and must be accounted as such.)

    Like

  5. Brian> No, it’s the whole thing. Prince Press did one-volume editions of a few important books previously only in two volumes, such as this one by von Rad and Heschel’s The Prophets.

    Like

Leave a Reply

