On Extended Absences of the Post-Lenten Kind

While many others normally place a moratorium on the internet during Lent, here at The Voice of Stefan all internet activities have instead been held in abeyance during the first 40 days of the Paschal season, which end today. It was a stroke of genius, I admit: shattering expectations and holding all in suspense, while creating a space for the wildest speculations. Brilliant!

Of course, the real reason I haven’t been posting for the past few weeks is that things have taken a great many turns of late, and I have suddenly found myself in the hinterlands Michigan, completely surrounded by no internet. (And if you fail to recognize this last line as both a reference and a deep nod to Onslow from Keeping Up Appearances, well, you should be of all [women and] men the most to be pitied.) I should be back home in Puerto Rico not many weeks hence, at which point posting will resume at its normal speed. Which is not much, as we all know, but it’s still better than nothing.

Noteworthy highlights from my trip to Michigan thus far include the following:

  • I paid a visit to the local franchise of that wretched emporium of blasphemous Christian trinketry, the Family Christian Stores, where I saw a guitar pick with the words “Pick Jesus!” printed in the front and Romans 10:13 printed in the back, as well as an idolatrous t-shirt that read, “JesUSAves”;
  • I finally picked up a copy of the Holman Christian Standard Bible, which for all of its defects, allows me the pleasure to see on the printed page St John 3:16 correctly and unambiguously translated (“For God loved the world in this way…”);
  • I have been recently introduced to a setting of the Prayer Before Holy Communion (“I believe, O Lord, and I confess…”) to the tune of—wait for it—Just As I Am (see for yourselves!).

Clearly, the fun never ceases.

My limited internet time is about up, but I expect to be able to check in at least a few times before I return home. In the meantime, and for the last time this Paschal season (as it is now nearly time for the Vigil of the Feast of the Ascension), allow me to say once again to one and all with great joy:

CHRIST IS RISEN! INDEED, HE IS RISEN!

6 responses to “On Extended Absences of the Post-Lenten Kind

  1. I’ve been wondering about you. Nice to see you post.

    If you have the time, I’d like to hear the flaws of the HCSB. I’ve heard so many good things about it and read quite a bit of it myself and would like to hear criticism which is always helpful to me.

    I tagged you for a meme but time may have been past for that.
    Jeff

    Like

  2. I do I hope that picking up a copy of Hoehner on Ephesians is added to you list of events! I would most appreciate it!!!

    Like

  3. It looks like you have risen from the dead as well, Esteban. Welcome back to the land of the – somehow “living” does not seem the best short description of inhabitants of cyberspace.

    Like

  4. Jeff> Once I get back, I may be able to write a bit about the HCSB (I hope, anyway!). And I might also even get to your meme, along with those of the countless others who have tagged me in vain in the past! ;-) Good to hear from you too.

    Mike> I’m in the other side of the state from Grand Rapids, but if I do make it there before I leave, consider it done!

    John> Always a delight to hear from you! And I think we internetty peoples are actually the mythical “undead”; it all might have something to do with the glow of the monitor.

    Like

  5. The (Russian) Orthodox church I went to out in PA did the “Just As I Am” arrangement, and it messed with me too.

    Christian bookstores can be a make-your-eyes-bleed experience. It’s amazing how such tacky merchandise is made, and disturbing how people will actually buy it thinking it’s witty and profound.

    Like

  6. Thor> It’s… something, isn’t it? ;-)

    Also, I agree re: Christian bookstores. I've always wanted to start a line of "Christian art" which features things like a beautiful picture of a basket of kittens, and below it a Bible verse–something like "Blessed shall they be who take your little ones and dash them against the stones." I'll bet you they'd sell like hotcakes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

