Eschatology Week: Amazing Vatican Prophecies!

Yes, that’s right: Eschatology Week at The Voice of Stefan goes on unabated in spite of constant interruptions of internet service, and now the utter lack of the same. This does, however, pose a difficult problem. While earlier I had noted that a non-literal hermeneutic should be applied to the term “week,” we have now moved beyond simple non-literal interpretation into a thornier question: How do we make sense of the obvious, and indeed large, gaps in the fulfillment of the “Eschatology Week” event? It is here that we must call to mind one of the finer points in the interpretation of prophecy: telescoping. Sometimes Old Testament prophetic literature will combine in a single oracle or vision events whose respective fulfillments may be separated by hundreds or even thousands of years (cf. Isaiah 61:1-2 as related to the first and second Comings of Christ [cp. St Luke 4:16-21]; and the delayed fulfillment of the 70th week in Daniel 9:24-27). In like manner also, while we rightly speak of “Eschatology Week” as a single whole, the appearance of its various components is, in fact, separated by a number of chronological gaps. This doesn’t mean, however, that “Eschatology Week” is any less of a unit than Daniel’s “70 Weeks.”

The above points having been firmly and indisputably established, we may now proceed to the actual subject of this post. During my internetless evenings, I have started to reacquaint myself with several books in my library with which, due to their being stored for many long years, I am no longer as familiar as I once was. Once such is the Papal church’s always interesting Codex Iuris Canonici. While perusing that book, it became clear to me that the faith community from which it hails had prophetically identified the identity of the eschatological Antichrist in their fundamental Church Law, and this over a decade before it was manifested to the world. Naturally, the passage identifying the Beast is Canon 666 (cf. Revelation 13:18):

Can. 666 – In usu mediorum comunicationis servetur necessaria discretion atque vitentur quae sunt vocationi propriae nociva et castitati personae consecratae periculosa.

Which is, being interpreted,

Can. 666 – Let necessary discretion be observed in the use of communication media, and let those things be avoided which are harmful to one’s own vocation and dangerous to the chastity of a consecrated person.

So there we have the awe-inspiring truth: back in 1983, the Vatican wondrously foretold that to find the eschatological Antichrist, one would have to look no further than the Internet, and that the proof of this would lie in its well-known seedy underbelly.

Interestingly, it appears from the above text (which is located in that section of the Codex Iuris usually styled the “Common Law of Religious,” as opposed to each institute’s particular laws, i.e., their constitutions) that the Vatican believes the Internet/Antichrist to be more dangerous to professed religious than to anyone else; therefore, recalcitrant internet users from among their ranks should be especially careful.

8 responses to “Eschatology Week: Amazing Vatican Prophecies!

  1. Great stuff! Very funny!

    I think you would appreciate that I am taking Fr. Jorgenson’s Church History final in a few days. So, I will be studying up on things like the communicatio idiomatum, the five liturgical families, The Three Chapters of Justinian, Chorbishops, etc… Fun stuff!

    Like

  2. I’ve noticed that people that use the expression ‘faith community’ typically hail from faith communities that place more emphasis on the ‘community’ and less on the ‘faith’.

    Like

  3. Oiga! Get some real internets! Don’t they have the quality tubes out there in Mee-chee-gann? Complain to Al Gore! I was afeared you were going the internet-way of our absent friend Fr Felix Culpa!

    Like

  4. Oh dear. Here I’ve been thinking that I was obeying the pope’s call to religious to get blogging in order to counter the heresies that are rife on the internet! There seems to be a conflict of sources – does the Code of canon law have priority over the pope’s vicar? But it can and does change. Or should one see his statements as the hermeneutical prism through which one is to interpret the Code?

    More seriously, I suspect that the greatest danger of the internet is not its seedy underbelly, but rather that I kept getting distracted during Vespers by trying to find a suitably eschatological response to this post – which I finally gave up on!

    Like

  5. Tim> I am to please, of course! ;-)

    All the best in your finals, and if you ever want to discuss chorepiscopoi over coffee sometime after that, well, just let me know!

    Aaron> Ha! Well played!

    Kevin> This is, as you might imagine, the bane of my soul–and sadly, I don't foresee any changes in the situation for a couple of months. All hail free WiFi at the mall, though!

    (Meanwhile, I got your email, but since my internet time is limited, I haven't been able to reply. We have some "strategery" to discuss, so let's talk sometime soon! :-)

    Sister Macrina> Oh no, now I've really done it! My writing has become a cause of logismoi for a monastic, causing her distraction during the Divine Office! I'm expecting the thunderbolt to hit me any minute now.

    Meanwhile, surely the Pope's vicar does not supersede the Codex Iuris! I say we (or I guess you, as I'm outside that communion) press canonical charges against him. ;-)

    Like

  6. Wow that is indeed fascinating. I’ll have to bring this up with the canon lawyers at my school.

    BTW one of them produced the funniest book title ever: Surprised by Canon Law. Believe you me that I had no end of jokes off that one. I used to come around to the section they kept it in the bookstore and shout out with surprise – every time.

    Like

  7. You know, it just occurred to me that the title of this post sounds a lot like a tabloid headline. Nice touch!

    Like

  8. Father> Well, if there was any doubt that we're related… ;-)

    Aaron> Why, thank you, sir! And you will note, of course, that I have just plugged your awesome new blog. :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

