Whence Stefan? (Or, How They Get Here)

Sitemeter has once again rescued an important question submitted to Google that lead an unsuspecting soul to The Voice of Stefan, and as before, I feel that it is my bounden duty to attempt to provide some answer to their inquiry. Thoughtful in Tracy (CA, USA) asks:

who created stefan and valdimir [sic]?

Needless to say, I am heartened that our Californian friend is pondering the Big Questions of Life: who are we, where do we come from, what is our purpose, etc. These are the common questions of our humanity, which are all too often ignored by our contemporaries who have given themselves over to mindless hedonism. But of course, as Socrates (allegedly) said, the unexamined life is not worth living, and on that account our truth-seeking friend stands head and shoulders over his or her peers.

Fortunately for Thoughtful, the Christian tradition offers an unambiguous answer to this honest etiological inquiry. The Nicene Creed confesses:

I believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth, of all things visible and invisible. And in one Lord Jesus Christ, the Only-begotten Son of God, begotten of the Father before all ages;; Light of Light, true God of true God; begotten, not made; of one essence with Father, through whom all things were made [….]. And in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the Giver of life, who proceeds from the Father; who with the Father and the Son together is worshipped and glorified [….].

It is, then, the Father through the Son in the Holy Spirit Who created Stefan, Vladimir, Thoughtful in Tracy (CA, US), all human beings, and indeed all things, both seen and unseen. St John of Damascus, in his Exact Exposition of the Orthodox Faith (II.2), further elaborates on this point:

Since, then, God, Who is good and more than good, did not find satisfaction in self-contemplation, but in His exceeding goodness wished certain things to come into existence which would enjoy His benefits and share in His goodness, He brought all things out of nothing into being and created them, both what is invisible and what is visible. Yea, even man, who is a compound of the visible and the invisible. And it is by thought that He creates, and thought is the basis of the work, the Word filling it and the Spirit perfecting it.

So, there we have it. I sincerely hope that the above helps to set the restless mind and soul of our truth-seeker at peace!

9 responses to “Whence Stefan? (Or, How They Get Here)

  1. I never thought about using Google to solve a philosophical dilemma. Now I understand what all this “internet” fuss is about.

    Its a good thing that such inquirers don’t come to my blog, because I don’t have anything existential to offer. I guess that makes my blog one of perpetual despair. But it is odd that people searching for “prostitutes in Baku” do find there way to my blog. Happily, I don’t have anything to offer there either. Again, perpetual despair.

    Many years ago, on a work trip to New York, I stayed in a hotel that had PCs in the rooms. The previous tenant of my room neglected to delete their search history from the browser. Maybe I was wrong, but at the time it seemed to me that the best way to remind him what not to do on a public computer was to blog about it…

    http://justinmartyr.blogspot.com/2005/05/day-3-in-manhattan.html

    Like

  2. Nick> I quite agree: St John of Damascus was that, and more. ;-)

    Steve> Well, thanks! Truth be told, I just use Google searches and some memes as a springboard to post some fun content that I would otherwise find hard to work in. It works every time! ;-) Meanwhile, this has reminded me that I have neglected to act indignantly envious in your Florida post, which I shall do just as soon as I wrap up this comment.

    Justin> If the Exact Exposition of the Orthodox Faith were not available in at least 34.7 million websites, I wouldn't have had anything of philosophical or theological worth to offer, either! This demonstrates that the internet does indeed offer the answer to every question, as Truthful in Tracy already knows.

    Meanwhile, you post on Mr Canes and the search history in the hotel computer is, by far, the most beautiful thing I have seen in quite some time. I even shed a tear or two. Bravo!

    Like

  3. Your mother and I are confused that you did not include at least a small mention of our participation in the creative act that brought you forward into this wonderful world. Indeed we are bu mere instruments, but still it might make up for the lack of calls you give your mother these days!!!!

    Like

  4. Father> But you are a theologian, so surely you understand that the question evidently called for a discussion of the doctrine of Creation, rather than a 10th grade biology class!

    Meanwhile, tell Mother I can't call home because Canadia (that's its official name) is long distance.

    Chuck> I read your blog, so I am not surprised that you understand nothing. ;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

